Six Tastes of Ayurved

April 2, 2013

Ayurvedic Cooking is based on six tastes: sweet, salty, sour, punjent, bitter and astringent. Each taste supports or aggrevates the qualities of the body described as Vata, Pita and Kapha. Understanding these  qualities and the tastes which support them helps an individual maintain optimal health. 


We introduce our students to the six tastes of Ayurved with a tasting class so each student can begin to identify the different tastes. We included the following foods for each taste:


  • Sweet: Cinnamon, Fennel and candy coated fennel, licorice tea, honey

  • Sour: Lemon, lime, dill pickels, tomatoes, grapefruit

  • Salty: Salt!

  • Punjent:(Spicy) Clove, Chili pepper flakes, ginger

  • Bitter: Kale, Dark chocolate covered almonds with Cocoa powder (to taste Cocoa powder then dark chocolate)

  • Astringent:(Dry) Potatoe, Apple, Beans


We also teach the kids where each of the food sources comes from such as cinnamon bark, licorice root, potatoe tuber, cocoa bean, fennel seed, apple fruit, etc.



Please reload

Featured Posts

All the Leaves are Brown

November 17, 2017

Please reload

Recent Posts

October 6, 2018

November 17, 2017

November 7, 2017

October 31, 2017

September 27, 2017

April 20, 2017

March 24, 2017

March 17, 2017

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Garden Picks

The Garden of Bliss is located on the campus of Maharishi School in Fairfield, Iowa.

Program Partners
Get in Touch



804 Dr. Keith Wallace Drive 
Fairfield, IA 52556 



  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2018     Garden of Bliss