Six Tastes of Ayurved

Ayurvedic Cooking is based on six tastes: sweet, salty, sour, punjent, bitter and astringent. Each taste supports or aggrevates the qualities of the body described as Vata, Pita and Kapha. Understanding these qualities and the tastes which support them helps an individual maintain optimal health. We introduce our students to the six tastes of Ayurved with a tasting class so each student can begin to identify the different tastes. We included the following foods for each taste: Sweet: Cinnamon, Fennel and candy coated fennel, licorice tea, honey Sour: Lemon, lime, dill pickels, tomatoes, grapefruit Salty: Salt! Punjent:(Spicy) Clove, Chili pepper flakes, ginger Bitter: Kale, Dark chocolate c

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archived Posts
Archives from the Past
Search By Tags
Garden Picks

The Garden of Bliss is located on the campus of Maharishi School in Fairfield, Iowa.

Program Partners
Get in Touch



804 Dr. Keith Wallace Drive 
Fairfield, IA 52556 



  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2018     Garden of Bliss